Tangkuban Perahu

So, a week has passed since I managed to defend my graduation thesis. Me and two of my mates decided to go sight-seeing a crater located about an hour or so by car from town. I woke up on time, cleaned my room, took a shower, and managed to watch an episode of Toaru Kagaku no Railgun before I went to Izark’s place. I parked my bike there and we took his car to travel.

 

izark’s car

 

We picked up froznkamui on our way as well before we went to Izark’s uni for a short visit. He said he needed to pick up a form or something.

Done with his business there, off we go to a local KFC for lunch. I dunno if it’s just me, but the chicken tasted different from the usual KFC I ate. But seeing no one commented it, I assumed it was just me.

So, after about an hour of driving, we arrived.

The smell of sulfur from the crater was pretty noticeable. “It smells like fart”, froznkamui commented. But putting that aside, we started to walk. Our objective was to get to the center of the crater. And it’s about 2 kilometers by foot.

 

one of the craters

 

It was a long walk especially for me who haven’t been doing sports for years and replaced it with packs of smokes. So yeah, I ran out of breaths pretty quickly. The path was an uphill with about 15-20 degree of slope, rocks and trees everywhere. It was quite a hard work indeed.

 

slopey path

 

 

On our way there, we found a cave (or so the sign says) which was so narrow and dark none of us was crazy enough to go inside without a guide. We might ended up lost or worse, disturbing whatever specter might inhabit it. That would suck.

We also found a sign that says: “Caution POISON”, though. And I raised one of my eyebrows a bit. One, because the English word doesn’t explain much about what is poisonous. Two, because none of my mates cared about that sign whatsoever.

Caution: POISON

After 10-15 minutes of rocky downhill walk, several “stopping to decide which path was the easiest way”, a few sudden change of weather (rain and sunny interchanging with 5 minutes interval or so), several “stopping to admire the grandeur of nature”, we managed to reach the bottom.

 

Brown(?) lagoon

And so, we proceeded to the center of the crater and found some kind of a lake or lagoon. It was very tricky trying to get closer since the ground is wet and slippery. I was hoping one of my mates slipped though, that’d be funny. But no, both of them were surprisingly cunning.

After we reached the innermost point we could reach without getting ourselves wet and admire the mountains surrounding us for about 10 minutes, we decided that we need to end this little adventure. So we walk back the path we took to get there.

Seeing that people who have been visiting this spot before arranged stones so they form letters, we tried to do the same. “AOI” was what we made since that is the forum where three of us met. It stands for “Anime Otaku Indonesia”.

We took a picture to see how the “AOI” looked like from higher up.

click the picture if you can't see the "AOI"

And that ended our visit to Tangkuban Perahu yesterday. It was fun, really. Sometimes, going out to do things like this is good even for a hikikomori like myself. 😛

—-

—-

—-

Moar pictures:

 

"Dude, whuzzat?" "Dude, that's the sky!"

frozns takin' a dump while izarks watchin' from behind...? xD

Me trying to find a salvation of life

 

Leave a comment